Hello world!

Welcome to WordPress.com. This is your first post. Edit or delete it and start blogging!

About mamawoman

A mamawoman
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Carla says:

    Welcome! I am a fifty six year old woman who had decided to share my life journey with others who may find some benefit in my words. Maybe you can even find a little humor in my story. What does it mean to be a woman ,wife ,mother and a member of the planet earth in an age of so much intolerance,uncertainty and need. None of us can predict the future to any degree of certainty. We also discover during our lives that there are no promises and we must first love our selfs before we can love others. How many times have we heard that statement that encourages self love. How does one learn to love oneself. Most of us have been raised in a culture that morally teaches us to put our needs behind the needs of our brothers. I have always felt it was necessary to sacrifice my desires if it would help another human being in need. These two ideas of what is psychologically favorable and morally correct are a contradiction in thinking. No wonder we live in a world were therapy has become so prevalent as a part of dealing with our difficulties. This blog is a self reflection and perhaps a journey of the reality of a solitary human being in a world filled with contradictions and challenges. Lets go for a ride.

  3. drgeraldstein says:

    Therapists struggle with the idea of putting others first. But, it is good to remember the lesson that life guards give us: to come at the drowning person carefully so that we are not pulled-under ourselves. Sounds like you’ve learned an important lesson.

    • mamawoman says:

      Thank You so much for your reply Dr. Stein. I imagine that is why boundries are so important in therapy. For myself, I have found that boundries are important in discovering and maintaining self love. I have fallen off of my surf board quite a few times in my journey. I guess just like surfing, self love and acceptance requires alot of practice. Discovering that there is beauty to be found in boundries has been one of lifes “AH” moments.

Leave a comment